February 20, 2008

Vote for national awards for Candice and Jayne

Candice and Jayne are in the running for three national awards, two of which are partially decided by fan votes.


The Lowe's Senior CLASS Women's Award is presented annually to an NCAA Division I female senior basketball player who excels both on and off the court, based on personal qualities that define a complete student athlete. Does that sound like someone you know? Candice is one of the ten candidates on the final women's ballot.

Here is more information about the CLASS award:
  • The women's ballot, This is where you cast your votes. One vote from a specific source is allowed each 24 hours during the final month of the season.

    The source of online fan votes is recorded with cookies. This means that you can vote, not just once, but once from each browser on each computer that you have access to. Firefox and IE on your work computer, home computer and laptop? That's six votes from you! Can we support Candice as well as the University of Kentucky has supported Sarah Elliott?
  • History
  • Selection process and criteria


The Atlanta Tipoff Club's Naismith Women's Trophy is awarded to the women's player of the year. Candice and Jayne are two of the 31 candidates on the mid-season list.

Fan voting counts for 25% of the final vote. You can participate in the voting by texting “VOTE” to 87654. When you do so, you'll be notified that you are registered and will receive the final ballot on March 23.

Here is more information about the Naismith Award:

Wade Trophy

The State Farm Wade Trophy Player of the Year is presented annually to the best women's basketball player in NCAA Division I. Candice and Jayne are two of the 23 candidates. (Note: CSTV.com recently published what they called a midseason Wade Watch list that did not include Jayne. There isn't an official midseason list, and Jayne is still a candidate.)

Here is more information about the Wade Trophy:

No comments: